“Piece of Mind” released by Iron Maiden

Piece of Mind was released on May 16th, 1983 and is the fourth studio album by British heavy metal band Iron Maiden. Piece of Mind was also the first Iron Maiden album not to be titled after a track on the album and was the first album to feature ex-Pat Travers drummer Nicko McBrain, who had recently left the Paris-based band Trust. In fact, each Iron Maiden album had seen an original member leave (in this case drummer Clive Burr) but this last change was the last until 1990 and widely regarded as *the* classic Iron Maiden lineup.

Even with all the changes in personnel, all the trademark Iron Maiden elements are there – Derek Riggs “Eddie the Head” artwork, galloping basslines, soaring vocals and the twin attack of harmonized guitars. However, producer Martin Birch had polished the sound a little, making it more accessible and for the first time, it featured meaningful songwriting contributions from members other than bassist Steve Harris.

One of the most notable of these was the Bruce Dickinson/Adrian Smith composition “The Flight of Icarus”, a metal classic retelling the tale of the man who flew too close to the sun.

However, another Steve Harris composition in the shape of “The Trooper” remains as one of the most popular songs in the band’s history, included in the set list of every tour since the album’s release. It is based on Tennyson’s “Charge of the Light Brigade” thrusting the listener right into the middle of a battlefield during the Crimean war.

The last track “To Tame a Land” was originally entitled “Dune” but Dune’s author, Frank Herbert, refused Iron Maiden’s request to name the song after his book, so it became “To Tame a Land”. This is a 7-minute epic closing Piece of Mind in a fantastically over the top barrage of intricate guitars, booming bass, and vocals.

ALSO SEE  "We wanted Ferraris, blondes and switchblades." - Alice Cooper

Most of the rest of the album is also of a high standard, however Piece of Mind was the first Iron Maiden album to include tracks that I actively skip (“Sun and Steel” being the most skipped), but it is still an undisputed metal classic and many feel this is the quintessential Iron Maiden album.

Iron Maiden

  • Bruce Dickinson – vocals
  • Dave Murray – guitar
  • Adrian Smith – guitar, backing vocals
  • Steve Harris – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Nicko McBrain – drums


  • Martin Birch – Producer, Engineer, Mixer
  • Frank Gibson – Asst Engineer
  • Denis Haliburton – Asst Engineer

Track listing

  1. “Where Eagles Dare” (Steve Harris) – 6:10
  2. “Revelations” (Bruce Dickinson) – 6:48
  3. “Flight of Icarus” (Bruce Dickinson, Adrian Smith) – 3:51
  4. “Die With Your Boots On” (Bruce Dickinson, Adrian Smith, Steve Harris) – 5:28
  5. “The Trooper” (Steve Harris) – 4:15
  6. “Still Life” (Dave Murray, Steve Harris) – 4:53
  7. “Quest for Fire” (Steve Harris) – 3:41
  8. “Sun and Steel” (Bruce Dickinson, Adrian Smith) – 3:26
  9. “To Tame a Land” (Steve Harris) – 7:27

1995 reissue bonus CD

  1. “I Got the Fire” (Montrose cover)
  2. “Cross-Eyed Mary” (Jethro Tull cover)


At the beginning of the sixth track, Still Life, the band included a hidden message which could only be understood by playing the album backward. This was a joke and an intended swing back at the right wing Christian groups who had accused Iron Maiden of being satanic and corrupting the nation’s youth.

ALSO SEE  The Beatles Release "Abbey Road"

In reality, the backwards message features Nicko McBrain mimicking Idi Amin…or at least mimicking a mimic, mimicking Idi Amin!

The version of Eddie the Head on the cover of Piece of Mind is the version of Eddie used in the video game Ed Hunter

Release Information

Piece of Mind was originally released in 1983 on Capitol Recordsin the US and on EMI Records in the UK; it was reissued later on Sanctuary/Columbia Records.

Speak Your Mind


Spotify Master